There are different types of car accidents. Not every incident warrants the involvement of law enforcement. In minor car accidents—no one is hurt, and there is little damage to property or the vehicles involved—it is likely unnecessary to call the police to the scene of the crash.
If you or another driver cause a collision resulting in serious bodily harm, injury, property damage, or death, you must contact the police and file a report. Police officers will also prioritize this type of call to ensure the safety of everyone involved, including others on the road. Any drivers that don’t follow this protocol risk additional hit-and-run charges, even if this wasn’t the intent.
Stay at the scene of the car wreck in a severe accident until the police arrive.
What is Considered a Total Loss in Nevada?
A car is considered “totaled” in Nevada when the cost of repairs plus the vehicle’s salvage value is at least 65 percent of the actual cash value. This refers to how much the car was worth before the damage, according to wallethub.com. Salvage value, on the other hand, is the car’s worth in its current state.
If a car is deemed totaled per Nevada law, the driver will receive the car’s value from their insurance company if the loss was covered, in addition to taxes and title costs for any replacement vehicles.
Insurers will look at a few factors when deciding how to price your vehicle, including age, mileage, condition, any internal damage that might not be visible, and the prices of other similar cars.
Will Insurance Pay for My Vehicle?
Total loss car accidents are relatively common. Nevada’s absolute loss threshold of 65 percent is among the lowest in America. Therefore, the state has some of the highest rates of totaled vehicles.
Every insurance company is different. It depends on your coverage type, though Nevada’s minimum required insurance coverage only covers damage you caused to another driver’s vehicle. If you are at fault, it is your responsibility.
Alternatively, your insurance company should pay for the damages according to your policy limit or deductible if you have collision and comprehensive coverage.
What if There is Partial-Fault in a Car Accident?
Two drivers can cause a car accident due to reckless or careless driving. This can be a more challenging case as Nevada’s comparative negligence laws say one party must be at least 50 percent to blame to assume liability. A “degree-of-fault” is needed to satisfy insurance companies for a payout and the jury if it gets to the point, which is why it’s essential to have an aggressive attorney backing you.
If you were partially at fault for a car accident and believe you are entitled to compensation for damage or injuries, contact our law firm to discuss legal representation: (702) 935-4144.